
 

Ohio Prevailing Wage Information 

 

GENERAL INFORMATION 

 

Ohio’s Prevailing Wage Law is codified in Ohio Revised Code (ORC) 4115 (local/state funded construction 

projects): http://codes.ohio.gov/orc/4115.04. Prevailing wage is the required wage to be paid to skilled 

trades employees on public improvement construction projects. In Ohio, prevailing wages are 

determined based on the rates established in the local union collective bargaining agreements (CBA). 

The local unions are required to submit their CBA to Ohio Department of Labor. The CBA rates become 

prevailing wage rates and depend on county jurisdiction. To date, Ohio has a total of 88 counties, 82 

trades, and 240 rates for trades. Any trade that has a union may register with the Department of Labor.  

 

It is important to note that if Davis-Bacon wage determinations are issued for a federally-funded project, 

then these wage rates preempt state prevailing wage rates, and Davis-Bacon rates apply to the entire 

project. 

 

ORC 4115 defines prevailing wage as the sum of the following: 1) base hourly rate of pay; 2) life 

insurance; 3) pensions; 4) health insurance; 5) vacation/paid holidays; 6) apprenticeship programs; 7) 

other bona fide fringe benefits.  

 

Threshold Requirement  

 

Until 2011, Ohio prevailing wage law only had one threshold requirement. Now, four different 

thresholds are required: 

 

1) “New construction” threshold level = $250,000 (as of September 29, 2013) 

        a.    Previous threshold for new construction from September 29, 2012-September 28, 2013 

= $200,000 

 

2)    New construction involving roads, streets, alleys, sewers, ditches, other works connected to 

road/bridge construction  

        (as of January 1, 2014) = $84,314 

 

3)    Reconstruction, enlargement, alteration, repair, remodeling, renovation, or painting  

        threshold level (as of September 29, 2013) =   $75,000  

        a.    Previous threshold for this type of reconstruction from September 29, 2012-September 28, 

2013 = $60,000 

 

4)    “Reconstruction, enlargement, alteration, repair, remodeling, renovation, painting,” involving 

“roads, streets, alleys, sewers,   

         ditches, other works connected to road/bridge construction”  = $25,261 (as of January 1, 2014)  

http://codes.ohio.gov/orc/4115.04


 

Threshold Adjustments  

 

Thresholds adjustments occur biennially by the Director of the Ohio Department of Commerce.  

 

On the first day of January of every even-numbered year thereafter (e.g., January 1, 2014), the Director 

of Commerce adjusts the threshold levels for which public improvement projects are subject to sections 

4115.03 to 4115.16 of the Revised Code as set forth in divisions (B)(3) and (4) of section 4115.03 of the 

Revised Code. The Director adjusts those amounts according to the average increase or decrease for 

each of the two years immediately preceding the adjustment based on US Department of Commerce, 

Bureau of the Census implicit price deflator for construction (In the absence of a published Price 

Deflator for Construction Index, the threshold adjustment is calculated using the Building Cost for Skilled 

Labor Index published by McGraw-Hill’s Engineering News-Record). The increase or decrease for any 

year may not exceed three percent of the threshold level in existence at the time of the adjustment. 

 

Timing of wage determinations 

 

In Ohio, prevailing wages are updated once a week according to new collective bargaining contracts that 

are submitted to the Department of Labor. The rates are exact reflections of specific trade classification 

agreements. Thus, if there is a new agreement submitted to the office, the Department will update the 

rate.   

 

View PW rates 

State of Ohio request for PW rates 

 

Increases 

 

The Ohio Department of Labor sends out weekly rate update sheets to public authorities. The public 

authority has seven days to pass the notice to the contractor. The contractor has ten days for 

compliance with the new wage rate. Thus, prevailing wage rates can change anytime.  

 

Overtime   

 

Pursuant to Ohio prevailing wage law, any employee that works in excess of eight hours per day or forty 

hours per week, must be compensated for overtime. Ohio follows Fair Labor Standards Act overtime 

regulations and does not have a separate daily overtime law.   

 

Working on Weekends  

 

There is no special rate for working weekend hours. 

 

 

http://198.234.41.198/w3/webwh.nsf/wrlogin/?openform
http://198.234.41.198/w3/webwh.nsf/PWRequestWEB


Working on Legal Holidays  

 

Any holidays listed in the employment contract must be paid to the employee at the holiday rate. Non-

union contractors are not governed by this regulation.  

 

Shift differentials  

 

Ohio prevailing wage rates do not change based on the shift worked throughout the day. 

 

Training Contribution  

 

Ohio prevailing wage regulations require training contributions. If the contribution is not stated in the 

union contract, it is paid in cash. Union contract varies by trade, so this rate is changed often. Moreover, 

defraying of costs of apprenticeship or other similar training programs that are beneficial only to the 

laborers or mechanics affected or another bona fide fringe benefit qualify as fringe benefits.  

 

Apprenticeship Requirements  

 

There are two requirements for an employee to be paid an apprentice rate: 1) apprentice must be 

approved by the Ohio Apprenticeship State Council; and 2) the employee must be registered in a 

apprentice program. If the employee is not registered, then he or she will be paid the journeyman rate. 

Please visit the following website for additional detail on apprenticeship requirements:  

 

Ohio State Apprenticeship Council 

 

Travel & Subsistence  

 

Ohio prevailing wage law recognizes certain per-determined fringe benefits such as: health insurance, 

holidays, vacation, L.E.S.S.E.T., pension, life insurance, disability insurance, and “other bona fide fringe 

benefits.” Other bona fide fringe benefits are fringes that are not recognized in the previous lists but are 

approved by the Ohio Construction Industry Licensing Board. Ohio also uniquely has a “health 

reimbursement account.” 

 

Contractor Licensing  

 

You must hold a state license do Electrical, HVAC, Refrigeration, Plumbing, or Hydronics work in Ohio. 

General construction contractors may need to be licensed at the local level. Check with the city or 

county for licensing information and requirements. 

 

Search for a Tradesman that holds a License in Ohio 

Ohio's Contractor Licensing Policy 

 

http://jfs.ohio.gov/apprenticeship/index.stm
http://www.contractorlicenselookup.com/ohio-contractor-license-lookup.html
http://www.contractors-license.org/oh/oh.htm


The Ohio Construction Industry Licensing Board establishes various requirements for contractor licenses 

and issues the licenses. Please follow the following website for additional details: 

 

Ohio Construction Industry Licensing Board 

 

Public authorities must enforce whether a contractor has a valid license (the OH Dept of Labor does not 

enforce). Generally, only one out of every one thousand contractors is unlicensed. 

 

Public Authority Responsibilities  

 

Before advertising for bids, contracting, or undertaking construction with it’s own forces, a public 

authority must do the following: 

1. Have the Dept. of Commerce determine the prevailing wage rate schedule for workers (ORC 

4115.04)  

2. Every public work contract must contain a provision that each worker employed by the 

contractor/subcontractor/other person about/upon the public work, must be paid the 

prevailing wage rate (ORC 4115.06)] 

3. If contracts are not awarded/construction undertaken within 90 days from the date of the 

determination of the prevailing wage, then the public authority must request a 

redetermination of the wage rates before the contract is awarded (ORC 4115.05)  

4. A public authority cannot award a contract for a public improvement to any 

contractor/subcontractor that is listed on the list of debarred contractors (ORC 4115.133). 

Debarred contractors are prohibited from working on public improvements for a period of up to 

three years. This list is filed with the OH Secretary of State (OSS). Filing a Notice of conviction by 

the OSS constitutes a notice to all public authorities.  

5. A public authority must designate and appoint one of its own employees to serve as the 

Prevailing Wage Coordinator during the life of the contract for constructing the public 

improvement (ORC 4115.071). 

a.    The Prevailing Wage Coordinator must be appointed no later than 10 days before the first payment 

of the wage by contractors to employees working on the public improvement   

 

Prevailing Wage Coordinator Responsibilities 

 

The prevailing wage coordinator is responsible for the following:  

 

1)    Attend all pre-construction meetings  

2)    Set up and maintain certified payrolls (for inspection) (ORC 4115.071) Payrolls should be received 

two weeks after initial payment and    

       monthly thereafter.  

3)    Obtain contractor’s payroll schedule (ORC 4115.071) 

4)    Receive complete payroll including the following:  

 Name  

http://www.com.ohio.gov/dico/ocilb.aspx


 Current addresses  

 Social security number  

 Number of hours worked  

 Pay  

 Fringe benefits  

 Job classification  

 Deductions 

 

5)    Notify all contractors of changes to wage rates within 7 days of published changes (ORC 

4115.071)  

6)    Monitor compliance with timely filing of certified payrolls (ORC 4115.071)  

7)    Receive Affidavit of Compliance at the end of the project (ORC 4115.071)  

8)    Report delinquency in filing to public authority and Ohio Department of Commerce (ORC 

4115.071)   

 

Certified Payroll Report Requirement   

 

Certified payroll reports must include the following information:  

 Name, current address, and social security number of each employee  

 Each worker’s classification for the work being performed 

 Total hours worked for each classification by each worker 

 Hourly rate of pay for each worker in each classification  

 Fringe benefit contributions 

 Total of gross wages, list of all deductions and final net pay for each worker 

 

 

Contractors Duties  

 

 

Contractors are responsible for:  

 

1)    Paying the correct prevailing wage for the correct classification: Including—modifications, changes, 

or corrections made during the   

       project (ORC 4115.07)   

2)    Paying OT rate of one and one half times the base hourly rate and adding all applicable fringe 

benefit payments (ORC 4115.031) 

3)    Take no deduction for food, lodging, transportation (exception—deductions pre-approved by the 

employee and Ohio Department of 

       Commerce) (ORC 4115.07)  

4)    Using only registered apprentices within ration posted within prevailing wage schedule (ORS 

4115.05)    

5)    Maintain full and accurate records to include the following (ORC 4115.05):  



 time cards, time sheets, daily work records etc. 

 payroll ledger/journals, cancelled checks/check register  

 detailed records of bona fide fringe benefits  

 records made in connection with the specific public improvement project 

  

6)    Supply all subcontractors with applicable prevailing wage rate schedule (ORC 4115.06) including 

all/any changes to schedules during  

       the project. 

7)    Submit certified payroll reports within two weeks of or after initial pay period (ORC 4115.07) 

8)    Submit to prevailing wage coordinator a complete Final Affidavit of Compliance (ORC 4115.07) 

 

Requirements of contractors  

 

1)    Out of state contractors must file their full name and address of their State of Ohio Statutory Agent, 

with OSS  

2)    Post up-to-date prevailing wage rate schedules in an area on the job accessible to employees (ORC 

4115.07)  

3)    Provide prevailing wage coordinator with all payroll dates prior to submitting payroll reports (ORC 

4115.071) 

4)    Provide prevailing wage coordinator with complete list of names, addresses, and contract 

information for any/all subcontractors  

       (ORC 4115.06). Contractors are responsible for their subcontractor’s compliance with prevailing 

wage laws  

5)    Must supply employees with written notification of specific job classification, prevailing wage rate, 

fringe benefit contributions, and name  

       and contact information for prevailing wage coordinator prior to beginning work on the project 

(ORC 4115.05)  

 

Penalties  

 

Any employee upon any public improvement  (except employees to whom or on behalf of whom 

restitution is made under division (C) of section 4115.13 of ORC) that is paid less than the fixed rate of 

wages applicable thereto may recover from such person, firm, or corporation or public authority, the 

difference between the fixed rate of wages and the amount paid to the employee in addition thereto a 

sum equal to twenty-five percent of that difference.  

 

The person, firm, corporation, or public authority who fails to pay the rate of wages so fixed also shall 

pay a penalty to the director of seventy-five per cent of the difference between the fixed rate of wages 

and the amount paid to the employees on the public improvement.  

 

The director shall deposit all moneys received from penalties paid to the director pursuant to this 

section into the industrial compliance operating fund. The director shall use the fund for the 



enforcement of sections 4115.03 to 4115.16 of the Revised Code. The employee may file suit for 

recovery within ninety days of the director's determination of a violation of sections 4115.03 to 4115.16 

of the Revised Code or is barred from further action under this division. Where the employee prevails in 

a suit, the employer shall pay the costs and reasonable attorney's fees allowed by the court. 

 

Debarment  

 

Under Ohio prevailing wage law, if the contractor, subcontractor, or officer of a contractor or 

subcontractor is found to have intentionally violated sections 4115.03 to 4115.16 of the Revised Code 

another time within five years, the contractor, subcontractor, or officer of a contractor or subcontractor 

is prohibited from contracting or performing work for a period of three years from the date of the 

expiration of the applicable period for filing an appeal, or if appealed, from the date of the final 

judgment of a court. 

 

Ohio's Division of Industrial Compliance maintains a debarment list: 

List of the Debarred Employees 

 

Helpful Links 

 

Ohio Division of Industrial Compliance and Labor 

Apprenticeship Information 

Ohio State Apprenticeship Council 

Ohio Construction Industry Licensing Board 

Ohio prevailing wage/minimum wage training session locations (April 2015) 

 

CONTACT INFORMATION 

 

Ohio Department of Commerce  

 

Division of Industrial Compliance  

Bureau of Wage and Hour Administration  

6606 Tussing Road 

PO Box 4009  

Reynoldsburg, Ohio 43068-9009 

Phone: (614) 644-2223  

Fax: (614) 644-2618  

Email: IC@com.state.oh.us 

Ohio Department of Commerce Website 

Contact information for the division 

 

City of Columbus Prevailing Wage Office   

 

http://www.sos.state.oh.us/sos/upload/records/contractors.pdf
http://www.com.ohio.gov/dico/
http://jfs.ohio.gov/apprenticeship/index.stm
http://jfs.ohio.gov/apprenticeship/index.stm
http://www.com.ohio.gov/dico/ocilb.aspx
http://com.ohio.gov/documents/dico_PWWorkshopFlyer.pdf
mailto:IC@com.state.oh.us
http://www.com.ohio.gov/
http://www.com.ohio.gov/DICO/Contacts.aspx


This office oversees compliance by contractors of Ohio Revised Code Chapter 4115 involving prevailing 

wage laws for improvements financed by public funds and oversees contracts funded with federal funds 

governed by Davis-Bacon Act with same types of submittals and expectations. 

 

City of Hilliard Prevailing Wage Office 

3800 Municipal Way  

Hilliard, Ohio 43026 

Phone: (614) 334.2433  

 

 

 


