The judicial arm of Hilliard’s local government, Mayor’s Court is administrated by the Mayor and operated by the appointed Clerk of Court. The Mayor appoints a magistrate to hear and determine misdemeanor cases coming within the jurisdiction of the court.
Mayor’s Court members
- Jill Van Order, Clerk of Court
- Clayton Hoover, Deputy Clerk of Court
- Pattie Morris, Deputy Clerk of Court
- Gregory Peterson, Mayor’s Court Prosecutor*
*E-mails do not go directly to Greg Peterson, but will be sent to Jill Van Order who will forward them to him. By sending an e-mail you agree and understand this.
Mayor’s Court is held at 8 a.m. every Wednesday in the Hearing Room of the Joint Safety Services Building, 5171 Northwest Parkway. Call (614)334-2361 for more information.
Defendant Information and Resources
Individuals appear in Hilliard Mayor’s Court after being charged with a violation of the Hilliard City Code. The charge may have been filed by police, the Building Department, a private citizen, or a corporation.
There are several things defendants have the right to know so they can make informed decisions about their court case. Those appearing have the following basic rights:
- to know the nature of the charges against them, to read the affidavit or complaint filed against them, and to have them explained if they do not understand the nature of the charges.
- to know the identity of the complainant.
- to be represented by an attorney, but defendants are not required to have an attorney.
- to a reasonable continuance (postponement) in the proceedings to retain an attorney.
- to a trial by jury (in certain cases), as long as a demand is made in written form.
- to have a trial within 30 days of the date the defendant was charged.
- to know the penalties associated with the charge.
|Classification of Misdemeanor||Maximum Term of Imprisonment||Maximum Fine|
|First Degree||6 months||$1,000|
|Second Degree||90 days||$750|
|Third Degree||60 days||$500|
|Fourth Degree||30 days||$250|
|Minor Misdemeanor||No imprisonment||$150|
|Unclassified Misdemeanor||No imprisonment||$1,000|
Defendants have the right to appeal the ruling of this court. That appeal must be filed within 10 days of the judgment as provided by section 1905.22 of Ohio Revised Code.
A plea of guilty: A complete admission of guilt.
A please of no contest: Not an admission of guilt, but an admission of the truth of the facts alleged in the complaint filed against you.
A plea of not guilty: The case will be set for trial at a later date. Defendants will have the right to present evidence on their own behalf. The City will present its evidence, and the magistrate will make a judgment as to the defendant’s guilt or innocence. A defendant may be represented by an attorney during that trial or may go forward without an attorney.
A cash or surety bond is required to cancel an active warrant. Bonds may be posted 24 hours a day, seven days a week at the Joint Safety Service Building, 5171 Northwest Parkway, Hilliard, Ohio. To determine the amount of bond required, contact the Clerk of Court Office or the Hilliard Division of Police.
Acceptable forms of payment when posting bond are cash or Visa/Mastercard. No personal checks are accepted. Photo identification is required to post bond.
Common Payable Violations
Assured Clear Distance Ahead (ACDA)
Expired Driver’s License (less than 6 months)
Failure to Control
Seat Belt (Driver)
Seat Belt (Passenger)
Speed (up to 15 MPH)
Speed (16 MPH to 20 MPH)
Speed (21 MPH to 25 MPH)
Speed (26 MPH and faster)
Display of License Plates Expired or Unlawful
Traffic Control Device
Unclassified Driving Under Suspension (Non-Appearance Required)
If violations are not listed above or you have been cited with more than one violation, click here. You may also call the Clerk of Court Office during normal business hours.
If the police officer marked Personal Appearance Required on your citation you must appear in court on the assigned court date.
Hilliard Recovery Court
Recovery Court staff
- Stacey Pratt, Program Coordinator
- Scott VanDerKarr, Magistrate
- Katherine Rings, Public Defender
- Dawn Steele, Prosecutor
Hilliard Recovery Court is designed to help people who are dealing with substance use disorder to find a path away from jail and toward a drug-free life.
The program is made possible in part by a grant from the Alcohol, Drug, and Mental Health (ADAMH) Board of Franklin County. Hilliard City Council approves additional funding in the City’s operating budget.
A recovery court identifies people going through our court system who are struggling with substance use disorder and diverts them away from potential jail terms and into a closely monitored substance-abuse treatment program that helps them get control of their lives.
The process begins before cases reach the courtroom. If the apparent facts of a case indicate an individual charged with a jailable offense might be a candidate for the program, the person can be asked if he or she wishes to participate in the two-year recovery program rather than face jail time. Those who agree to participate complete an application. The case coordinator and the public defender review the application and – if they agree the person is a good candidate for the program – they take the case to the magistrate.
If the magistrate agrees, the individual must show up at court every Wednesday for the first six months, must report to the case coordinator for two years, and is subject to random drug tests throughout the program. In addition, individuals must participate in clinical assessments that identify personalized treatment plans to help them overcome their addiction.
This is not an option for every drug offender, and it is far from a slap on the hand.
Those who do complete the treatment and recovery court program will walk away without charges or reduced charges on their record, as well as with the potential of leading a life free from substance abuse, which is a more desirable outcome than having someone convicted and sitting in a jail cell.